Media Centre

CEMEX reveals international finalists for 2017 CEMEX Building Award

05 September 2017
  • CEMEX is proud to announce the 61 finalists from 17 countries participating in the International Edition of the 2017 CEMEX Building Award.
  • The company will announce the winners at the awards ceremony on November 9, 2017.

CEMEX, S.A.B. de C.V. (“CEMEX”) (NYSE: CX) announced today the 61 finalists for the International Edition of the 2017 CEMEX Building Award, which recognizes the best architecture and construction worldwide every year.

The International Edition gathers the winning projects from the different National Editions of the CEMEX Building Award. This year, 17 countries issued a call for finished projects that will participate in the International Edition’s five categories and four special awards.

Finalists from Colombia, Costa Rica, the Czech Republic, the Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, Latvia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Poland, Puerto Rico, Spain, the United States, and the United Arab Emirates will attend the ceremony where CEMEX will reveal the winners.

The current edition stands out for the projects’ less conventional schemes, exploring and crossing new frontiers between construction and architecture. The high number of registrants in this edition’s Sustainable Building category underscores the growing effort to create projects that foster the protection and preservation of natural resources and sustainable development.

The CEMEX Building Award has continued to break new ground and barriers—becoming a benchmark for best practices in international construction. Year after year, architects, engineers, and builders worldwide develop projects utilizing advanced techniques, increased quality, and superior products to participate in this Award.

Among the finalists are the Media Library of Vitrolles in France, the Exupery International School in Latvia, an Aquapark in Poland, a Sufism Sanctuary in the United States, an Arqueopark in the Czech Republic, a cable-stayed bridge over the Ozama River in the Dominican Republic, and the Pharmax Pharmaceuticals building in the United Arab Emirates.

The awards ceremony will take place on November 9 in Mexico City with representatives from the finalists, as well as renowned architects and engineers, in attendance.

The finalists of the 2017 CEMEX Building Award can be found on:

After celebrating 26 years recognizing innovation and best architectural and construction practices, together with the talent behind them, the CEMEX Building Award has consolidated its position as one of the greatest distinctions in the Mexican and international building industry.

CEMEX is a global building materials company that provides high-quality products and reliable services to customers and communities in more than 50 countries. CEMEX has a rich history of improving the well-being of those it serves through innovative building solutions, efficiency advancements, and efforts to promote a sustainable future.

For more information on CEMEX, please visit:

Follow CEMEX on:,,,



CEMEX assumes no obligation to update or correct the information contained in this press release. CEMEX is not responsible for the content of any third-party website or webpage referenced to or accessible through this press release.


CEMEX Contact Information:

Media Relations
Jorge Pérez
+52 (81) 8888-4334

Investor Relations
Eduardo Rendón
+52 (81) 8888-4256

Analyst Relations
Lucy Rodriguez
+1(212) 317-6007

Building the Future
Copyright © 2018 CEMEX S.A.B. de C.V. All rights reserved

Customer Type:
Name: *
Town: *
Email: *
Click To Open